Call us now to book:

610-488-1905

“Absolutely perfect!”

Left on 01/31/2016 for a stay in January 2016
We have just returned from a much needed get-away. We are so happy we found this treasure ! This fully restored cabin is PERFECT! The owners passion for the cabin is evident in the attention to every detail. Each piece of furniture has it's specific purpose, yet maintains the ambiance of the cabin. We were surprised to learn that each piece of furniture had been hand crafted by the owners! We enjoyed ourselves so much, that we are already planning a return trip.


 

“A step back in time!”

Left on 05/04/2015 for a stay in May 2015
What a lovely place this is. The cabin was perfect and cozy yet functional. The kitchen is stocked with pots/pans and dinnerware. The view from the porch was breathtaking ( rolling hills, green grass and of course miniature ponies and donkeys). There are weekend flea markets , antiquing and cool shops nearby. Blue Marsh Lake is close by for fishing and kayaking. The grounds of the homestead are nice to walk on ( don't forget to see the frog pond). There is no tv but that is okay- the wifi works great if you need to be connected. All in all a great weekend trip! Russell and Mary are very nice ,also.


 


Relaxing Getaway!”    

 

Left on 01/28/2015 for a stay in January 2015
My girlfriend Kathryn and I stayed here earlier this month for her birthday. What a fun and unique way to celebrate her birthday! We stayed for one night at the cabin. It was truly a lovely experience. We both were able to relax and unwind in a peaceful environment and enjoy all the modern amenities the cabin offered. It was so nice how it had such a rustic, simple, and woodsy feel to it, yet it had such wonderful modern conveniences. It was so perfect. We will definitely be back here again to enjoy what this lovely cabin has to offer. Would definitely recommend.


 

Down Home Country Livin'”

Left on 07/07/2014 for a stay in July 2014
I scored big time on this vacation getaway for my wife ( 10th anniversary ). This place was the "Perfect 10". Guys, do yourself a big favor & take the chance on this trip site. The rolling hills, horses, donkeys, & yes jus chillin' on the porch rocking in those chairs. Russell & Mary have a "diamond in the rough" location just waiting for you...perfect hosts they are indeed. Local wineries, covered bridges, & the town of Robesonia, just minutes away as well.


 


Left on 07/17/2013 for a stay in July 2013
Russell and Mary are the very special owners and restorers of this lovely cabin. You feel as if you're a homesteader --- without any of the work and all of the benefits...peace, quiet, emotional/spiritual restoration. Imagine Henrich Gruber setting out from Germany and building his cabin in this very spot -and now hundreds of years later, you are "living" here too! The authentic restoration is beautifully and artistically done and if you take the time to read the guest book, you'll see that everyone has an almost magical experience - returning to one's self, and for couples - toward one another. We used it as a base to tour the Lancaster area - including the Daniel Boone homestead which many people don't know is nearby. This cabin is furnished with period furniture built by Russell, has a stove, microwave, sink, small refrigerator, plates, cookware and utensils, full bathroom with a shower. We certainly used the air conditioning this week, and would look forward to a Fall/Winter retreat because the cabin is heated as well. They raise miniature horses and donkeys and you are free explore their beautifully maintained 28 acres. (Don't forget the frog pond in the garden). Give a gift to yourself and a loved one...simply...go!


 

“Serene, Clean, Historic, and Dreamy!”

Left on 10/12/2016 for a stay in October 2016
Upfront, the amazingness of the Gruber Homestead Settler's Cabin is surpassed ONLY by the friendliness and attention to detail provided by the owners, Mr. & Mrs. Getz! As the title of this review offers... The property is utterly serene; the cabin is incredibly clean; the barns, adjacent home, and cabin itself are wonderfully historic; and, the experience you'll have - much like ours - will be simply dreamy! Perfect for a party of two, the cabin is a quite large single room with a perfect bathroom and shower and a great lil' kitchenette with oven/stove, fridge, microwave, coffee pot, all utensils and plates/cups/etc. and even a homemade tinsmithed sink MADE by Mr. Getz. In fact, the man made nearly all of the great furniture and fixtures in the cabin! He AND his wife's talent is seen throughout! Be prepared to laugh: The Getz have donkeys ... MINI donkeys, several of them ... and these cute lil' things are just hilarious when they start to "here haw!" They also have a number of beautiful ponies and a couple of full-size horses! ... ALL to be observed outside of the original pane windows of the cabin! Aside from only reviews online, we knew nothing of this fantastic ole' place, and we went in a bit blind, but the Getz really know how to provide a real warm, homey environment for their visitors, and the thank you's and praises are easily read in their visitor's book, a book FILLED with hundreds of kind and thoughtful entries by folks who stay there! We found the Gruber Homestead Settler's Cabin via a generic search when wanting to stay in the area for two nights to antique shop in nearby Adamstown, etc. Parenthetically, there are INDEED antique store galore around that area, so bring your walking shoes and spendin' money! Forget the TV, there's not one out there, and you DO NOT need it! Go and live in the spirit of the place for a couple nights! Still, if you just can't go without connectivity, the Getz provide free Wifi! :) Serene, Clean, Historic, and Dreamy! ...You'll see! :)


 

Customer Reviews